Freedom, Privacy, and Technology (SINQ)

This page is about a class offered in a previous quarter. It is not current.

Schedule

Week 1

Monday, September 30

Wednesday, October 2

Week 2

Monday, October 7

  • Read before class:
  • Homework:
    • Read for next class
    • Work on brain dump (due Monday, Oct 14)
  • Monday mentor
    • Topic selection, form groups

Wednesday, October 9

  • Read before class:
  • Homework:
    • Read for next class
    • Continue working on brain dump (due Monday, Oct 14)
  • Wednesday mentor
    • Introductions, what is UNST, FPT cluster

Week 3

Monday, October 14

Due: brain dump

  • Read before class:
  • Homework:
    • Read for next class
    • Find resources for your research project
  • Monday mentor
    • library + research help

Wednesday, October 16

Week 4

Monday, October 21

Wednesday, October 23

  • Read before class:
  • Homework:
  • Wednesday mentor
    • Campus Surveillance Map

Week 5

Monday, October 28

Due: Annotated Bibliography

  • Read before class:
    • Rejouis, Gabrielle M. 2019. “Why Is It OK for Employers to Constantly Surveil Workers?” Slate Magazine, September 2, 2019. https://slate.com/technology/2019/09/labor-day-worker-surveillance-privacy-rights.html.
    • (Watch/Listen to) Neville, Jennifer. 2019. “Recommendation and Learning to Improve Personal Productivity.” presented at the Microsoft Faculty Summit 2019, July 17. https://youtu.be/gKNoYQtDR-E?t=1171. [Note: There are multiple presentations in this video, but you only need to watch Jennifer Neville’s. The link is set up to start playing at 19:31 when her talk begins, and you can stop watching when questions for her are over at approximately 41:55.]
  • In class:
    • Choose section of Automating Inequality
  • Homework:
    • Read for next class
    • Start working on your First Draft, due November 13
  • Monday mentor
    • Peer feedback on annotated bibliographies

Wednesday, October 30

  • Read before class:
  • Homework:
  • Wednesday mentor
    • Peer feedback on annotated bibliographies

Week 6

Monday, November 4

Due: Midterm Portfolio

  • Read before class:

    • No reading. We will be doing a data analysis activity in class that will replace your writing response grade.
  • Homework:

    • Read for next class
    • Continue working on your First Draft, due November 13
  • Monday mentor

    • group work time

Wednesday, November 6

  • Read before class:
    • You will read one chapter from one of the following books. It has been assigned & shared with you on Google Classroom:
      • Eubanks, Virginia. 2018. Automating Inequality: How High-Tech Tools Profile, Police, and Punish the Poor. St. Martin’s Press.
      • Benjamin, Ruha. 2019. Race After Technology. Polity.
  • Homework:
    • Read for next class
    • Continue working on your First Draft, due November 13
  • Wednesday mentor
    • group work time

Week 7

Monday, November 11

No class! And no mentor session. Thank a Veteran for their service.

Wednesday, November 13

Due: First Draft

Stories about Artificial Intelligence

Week 8

Monday, November 18

AI critiques

Wednesday, November 20

  • Read before class:
  • Homework:
    • Read for next class
    • Continue working to incorporate feedback, revise draft. Final Draft due December 12.
  • Wednesday mentor
    • Presentation Advice

Week 9

Monday, November 25

Wednesday, November 27

No class. And no mentor session.
Last day to meet with me for draft feedback.

Week 10

Monday, December 2

Wednesday, December 4

  • Read before class:
    • No readings. I did not get these scanned in time. Please come to class prepared to complete a closing survey, and reflect broadly on the course topics. We will have one final in-class activity to replace the reading/writing grade for this day.
    • Le Guin, Ursula K. 1975. “The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas.” In The Wind’s Twelve Quarters. Harper & Row. [Note: I will post a PDF.]
    • Jemisin, N.K. 2018. “The Ones Who Stay and Fight.” In How Long ’Til Black Future Month. Orbit. [Note: I will post a PDF.]
  • Homework:
  • Wednesday mentor
    • Group work time

Deadline Friday, December 6

Due: End of Term Portfolio, 11:59p

Finals

Thursday, December 12, 12:30p

Due: Final Essay/Report, start of session

  • Read before class: None
  • Homework: None
  • In Class:
    • Presentations
    • Closing